Massa returns to F1

Williams racing has confirmed Massa alongside Lance Stroll in 2017 replacing Valtteri Bottas who will race for Mercedes.

Massa, who had announced his retirement from the sport at the end of the past season will race another one year with his old team.

The 35-year-old Brazilian was convinced to return to racing as Williams wanted an experienced driver to partner rookie Stroll in a season with big regulation changes.

“Firstly, I am very happy to have an opportunity to return to Williams,” said Massa. “I always intended to race somewhere in 2017, but Williams is a team close to my heart and I have respect for everything it is trying to achieve. Valtteri has a great opportunity, given the turn of events over the winter, and I wish him all the best at Mercedes.In turn, when I was offered the chance to help Williams with their 2017 Formula 1 campaign, it felt like the right thing to do. I certainly have not lost any of my enthusiasm for racing and I’m extremely motivated to be coming back to drive the FW40.The support from my fans over the last few weeks has been a huge boost and I’m grateful for that. I also look forward to working with Lance; I’ve known him for many years and seen his talent develop during that time, so I look forward to seeing what we can achieve together.”

However, Bottas had a contract with the team for this year, the Finnish driver leaves the squad and he’ll replace the world champion Nico Rosberg at Mercedes. The official announcement was expected today.

Leave a Reply

